About Us

The Board was established in 1909 and consists of seven members: five licensed optometrists and two public members. The members are appointed by the Governor and serve 3-year terms. The Board’s mission is to “To ensure that all applicants for licensure and all Doctors of Optometry currently licensed, practice their profession in a manner that benefits and protects the public, and to ensure that the highest quality optometric eye and vision care is provided in a professional, competent and ethical manner.” The Board’s telephone number is 304-558-5901. The email address is wvbdopt@frontier.com.


Bill Ratcliff, O.D., President

Steven Odekirk, O.D., Secretary-Treasurer, WVAOP Liaison

James Herman, O.D., Rules Chairman

Jennifer Stevens, O.D., Complaint Chairman

David Harshberger, O.D., Education Chairman

Raymond Keener, Consumer Member

John Le Rose, Consumer Member

Board Counsel: Keith Fischer, Esq.

Executive Director: Pamela Carper